The butterfly life cycle has four stages. It will undergo complete metamorphosis, or in other words, a complete change of body form. They begin life as a larva hatched from an egg, pupate in the chrysalis state to emerge as a butterfly, looking nothing like their larval state.


The hard shell, chorion, which protects the embryo is lined with a waxy layer that prevents dehydration. It is nutrient rich and is often the first meal for the newly hatched larva. A small opening in the center of a complexly patterned area on the egg, called the micropyle, allows sperm to enter the egg for fertilization while inside the female. egg has a spherical, cylindrical, or ovate shape and varies in color, texture, and size depending on the species.

rm. Butterfly Lifecycle – Part One

thumbnail courtesy of


Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the lastest tips, coupons and events. 

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This